MAGNUM - Lost On The Road To Eternity (Album)



Release 19th January 2018


Returning with their 20th studio recording Magnum show why they have become one of British rocks favourite bands. Oozing with the typical magic and ambience of their previous work Tony Clarkin’s melodic, relentlessly driving, rocking songwriting combined with Bob Catley’s charismatic vocals create images in the listeners minds. Even after over 40 years in the music business, Bob’s vocals have remained strong in this recording. How that will reflect in a live show remains yet be seen.


‘Lost On The Road To Eternity’ contains some brilliant melodies, be it the great opening track ‘Peaches and Cream’ with its driving riff and catchy chorus or ‘Storm Baby’ with its slower paced keyboard intro which bursts into another powerful rock riff. The first single from the album is ‘Without Love’ which is built on a meaty groove.


The title track, ‘Lost On The Road To Eternity’ is sublime and the track is enhanced with its atmospheric arrangements courtesy of the Wolf Kerschek orchestra. Tobias Sammet adds another dimension to the track with a guest vocal. Bob Catley has performed on some of his releases, and here, the favour is returned to the Edguy/Avantasia frontman.


This new album is possibly one of the most diverse but at the same time familiar recordings so far. Tony Clarkin, when asked about the new creative direction said “As I had started to write the songs even before we embarked on our most recent tour, I subsequently had time to let my initial ideas sink in for a few weeks, which helped me realise that I was on the right path,” he says, looking back with satisfaction, “That was a good feeling which inspired me to write more powerful numbers. Apart from that, the usual Magnum formula applied: I go to the studio, try out ideas on the guitar or on the keyboards and do my damnedest to write the best Magnum song of all time.”


Although Clarkin and Catley are the only remaining founder members of Magnum, the other three band members also play an eminent role. Especially since – along with bassist Al Barrow, who has been a band member since 2001 – the group’s current line-up features two new names in keyboardist Rick Benton and drummer Lee Morris. Benton joined the Magnum camp in December 2016 to replace long-standing member Mark Stanway, while Morris took over from Harry James only a few months ago. “Harry has two other bands, Thunder and Snakecharmer, and it became more and more difficult to coordinate our schedules,” Clarkin explains and confesses: “I must admit that I was reluctant to let him go, but after Lee had drummed for us for the first time and we realised that he adds even more rhythmic complexity to our songs I’m more than happy with the line-up change.” Clarkin feels just as positive about his new keyboardist Rick Benton: “Rick has brought a breath of fresh air and interesting ideas into the band. His style is carefully considered and he seems to know intuitively what enhances our material. You just have to give him a rough idea of the arrangement and he immediately comes up with a perfect solution.”  Harry will be a hard act to follow, but having listened to his first recording with Magnum, it is easy to see why Lee was chosen to fill his shoes. In contrast, the keyboard work of Rick benton seems to have added more depth and atmosphere in many tracks on the album.


‘Lost On The Road To Eternity’ is a magnificent piece of work musically and a worthy addition to any music lovers collection, of course it would be rude not to mention the brilliant cover artwork by the amazing Rodney Matthews.


Magnum are taking the album out on tour this year, and I am looking forward to seeing how the changed direction and line-up will pan out in a live show. As a long-time fan of the band, this can only make picking a set list to please the fans even more difficult.


Track Listing:

Peaches and Cream

Show Me Your Hands

Storm Baby

Welcome to the Cosmic Cabaret

Lost on the Road to Eternity

Without Love

Tell Me What You've Got to Say

Ya Wanna Be Someone

Forbidden Masquerade

Glory to Ashes

King of the World



Tony Clarkin - guitars

Bob Catley - vocals

Rick Benton - keyboards

Al Barrow - bass

Lee Morris – drums


Check them out at:





Catch Magnum Live in 2018:


26.01.18 GB-Minehead - Giants Of Rock

20.02.18 GB-Bristol - Trinity

21.02.18 GB-Cardiff - Tramshed

23.02.18 GB-Holmfirth - Picturedome

24.02.18 GB-Manchester - Academy 2

25.02.18 GB-Hull - Welly

26.02.18 GB-Aberdeen - Garage

27.02.18 GB-Glasgow - Garage

01.03.18 GB-Belfast - Limelight

02.03.18 GB-Birmingham - Town Hall

04.03.18 GB-Preston - Guildhall

05.03.18 GB-Nottingham - Rock City

07.03.18 GB-Leamington - Assembly

08.03.18 GB-Cambridge - Junction

09.03.18 GB-London - Islington Assembly Hall

11.03.18 GB-Southampton - Engine Room

12.03.18 GB-Brighton - Old Market

14.03.18 NL-Leiden - Gebr de Nobel

16.03.18 SE-Stockholm - Fryshuset Klubben

17.03.18 NO-Oslo - John Dee

18.03.18 SE-Gothenburg - Sticky Fingers

19.03.18 SE-Malmoe - KB

21.03.18 D-Munich - Ampere

23.03.18 D-Nürnberg - Der Hirsch

24.03.18 D-Aschaffenburg - Colos-Saal

25.03.18 D-Berlin - Columbia Theater

27.03.18 D-Bonn - Harmonie

28.03.18 D-Stuttgart - Im Wizemann

29.03.18 D-Freiburg - Jazzhaus

31.03.18 D-Wuppertal - Live Club Barmen

01.04.18 NL-Uden - De Pul

03.04.18 D-Leipzig - Werk 2

04.04.18 D-Hamburg - Fabrik

05.04.18 D-Bremen - Aladin

07.04.18 D-Neuruppin - Kulturhaus

08.04.18 PL-Bydgoszcz - Klub Kuzinia

10.04.18 CZ-Prague - Nova Chemelnice

11.04.18 D-Memmingen - Kaminwerk

12.04.18 CH-Pratteln - Z7

13.04.18 I-Milano - Legend

15.04.18 E-Barcelona - Bikini

16.04.18 E-Madrid - But

Print Print | Sitemap
Down The Front Media ©2018 Unauthorised use and / or duplication of this material without express permission from this site's author and / or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Down The Front Media with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.